Born in a Biscayne (1984)

by Spencer Bohren

Spencer Bohren’s first record, featuring Doctor John, was released in 1984 to rave reviews by blues programmers and fans all over America. An even mix of original and traditional music, it presented all of the musical elements that continue to inform Spencer’s unique sound, both as a soloist and as a band leader. The storyline of Born in a Biscayne contrasts with the comedic approach taken in the remake of the Coaster’s classic Shoppin’ for Clothes.

Several flavors of blues are offered, from the solo version of Willie McTell’s Broke Down Engine to the horn-driven Straight Eight and a raucous Drop Down Mama.

The lonely In Between Friends is considered by many to be Spencer’s finest original ballad. In addition to the great piano and organ of Doctor John, there are contributions from slide guitarist John Mooney, drummer Kenneth Blevins (John Hiatt, Sonny Landreth) and guitarist Tommy Malone (subdudes). Slippery saxophone solos by Eric Traub highlight an all-star horn section.



1) Straight Eight

2) Shoppin’ For Clothes

3) Broke-Down Engine

4) Eloise

5) In-Between Friends

6) Born in a Biscayne

7) Drop Down Mama

8) Blues on the Ceiling

9) Midnight Delta

10) Snap Your Fingers

    This playlist is empty.